IMG_3544

Another workday, another cha chaan tang lunch. This time, we hit up 54th Ave Cafe, located in Vancouver’s Champlain Mall plaza @ Kerr and 54th Ave. Definitely not the most creative name. If I were the owner, I probably would have went with 7088 Kerr Street Cafe… but I’m crazy like that.

Uncreative names aside, my first visit to 54th Ave Cafe was fairly pleasant. Plenty of available parking, a nice exterior, and a clean and bright interior are simple things you don’t always see with Hong Kong style cafes in Vancouver.

IMG_3550b

The lunch menu offers up your standard fare of HK style food. I ordered the Baked Pork Chop Fried Rice. As a wise lunch-buddy pointed out, there’s no better dish to gauge a cha chaan tang than the Baked Pork Chop on Rice.

And how did 54th Ave Cafe measure up? Not bad.

IMG_3555Listed at $8.50 on the lunch menu, the prices here seemed a bit high at first. But factor in the free cold-drink upgrade fee (usually at least +$0.50 at other HK Cafes), the included soup, and the generous proportions; and 54th Ave Cafe is at least as good a value as other Vancouver cha chaan tangs.

The Baked Pork Chop on Rice was tasty. Great tomato sauce, perfect fried rice, and succulent meat made it good. Less onions and more cheese would’ve made it great. Did I mention that the proportions were huge?

7.5 out of 10.
IMG_3559

Now that I think about it, the name 54th Ave Cafe suits this place well. The name reflects the fresh, fair-priced, tasty food that this clean, no-nonsense cafe dishes up.

My first visit won’t be my last.
54th Ave Cafe on Urbanspoon