Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

Like most boys, I used to play with toy cars. I owned hundreds and my favorites were the Hot Wheels Color Shifters. These looked like the rest, but magically changed colors when heated & cooled! Radical! The girls back then didn’t like my cars; they were more interested in drinking imaginary tea with their imaginary friends. Boring.

I never understood the appeal of those tea parties. Still don’t.

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

But I have a secret. Promise not to tell my cars? (yes, they can hear/talk/feel) I love afternoon tea. I still don’t  “get it”, but I can appreciate great food when I see/taste it and there are few things finer than afternoon tea.

Many places in Vancouver serve afternoon tea. I haven’t been to most, but I really like Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House located @ 2057 West 41st Avenue in Kits. The staff is friendly and they do all the little things (quaint decor, fine china, fancy music) that women people have come to expect.

Adonia’s afternoon tea is $23 per person (or $14 for a “mini afternoon tea”). It includes a pot of tea and a platter of food that includes cucumber, tuna, and smoked salmon sandwiches, cupcakes, biscuits, and other goodies. Adonia has a large selection of teas. I went with the a Mando Indica black tea (pictured above).

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

Food started off with cocktail shrimp. There were 4 of us so 1 each. A little strange to start with an item like this, but it was tasty.

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

Next up, my favorite: fresh scones! Again, only 1 each. I would’ve preferred an entire basket to share. The best scones I’ve ever had were in England. There, they serve them with jam and clotted cream. On this side of the Atlantic, they substitute the clotted cream with crème fraîche. Still great, but not the same.

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

The platter of sandwiches and goodies arrived next (the one pictured above is for 2 people). Quality over quantity here. The sandwiches may be small, for instance, but they are made to order with quality ingredients. It’s more filling than it looks too.

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House

For dessert, cookies and panna cotta topped with fruit coulis. Delicious and, like the other goodies, not overly sweet.

All in all, a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. It’s not quite lunch. It’s not quite brunch. It’s… unique. And considering you’re getting multiple courses and tea, it’s fair-priced in my opinion. Recommended! (especially if you’ve never had afternoon tea before)

Adonia Kerrisdale Tea House on Urbanspoon

This is a lot more satisfying than sipping air from plastic cups. Now, if only they made Color Shifting tea cups – that’d be totally awesome. Vrooom!